This is a food related journal.

16/06/21
Today's dinner was:

Sandwich with cheese and prosciutto and a cubed nectarine.

Since I just came and was tired and didn't have much on me, I did something more basic. I already ate a bit of it before my dad came back and we ate together. This was my portion, I made a bigger portion for him that I didn't photograph.

The nectarines were a hassle to cut up because the seed was compretely stuck to the fruit. Probably because they weren't all that ripe. Regardless, it was nice. Tomorrow I'll go on to make something more consistent.
17/06/21
Today's dinner was:

Spaghetti Carbonara and cherry sorbet.

I thought. What's Italy without Italian food? I'll try to make something authentic.
I actually only recently learnt that carbonara doesn't contain any cream into it and is made with egg, so the carbonara that I ate in the past was just cheesy pasta. I personally went out to shop for ingredients to make sure no corners were cut in the making. This was my first time making Carbonara ever and at the beginning, I thought the sauce was too watery, but as it cooled down, it tasted really good. I'm glad it worked out.

For the sorbet, I thought: We have a whole lot of cherries lying around, my dad really likes cherries, there's a food emulsifier here and it's extremely hot; I should make something cold and refreshing. So I made some sorbet. It wasn't completely frozen when I served it, but my dad really liked it still. It had less of an ice cream texture and more of a cold smoothie that's solid enough to eat with a spoon. There's still some left so I'll have the same for dessert tomorrow.
18/06/21
Today's dinner was:

Cordon Bleu, omlette and bruschetta (And more cherry sorbet)

I wanted to make something with what was around so I wouldn't waste food. The cordon bleu was really good, like I was surprised, I'll definitely have this in the future. The omlette was kind of plain, and I put some ketchup on top (not photographed). The bruschetta was banging though. I didn't have garlic so I used onion instead. My bread was plain but my dad's I toasted with some oil and garlic powder and made some sort of garlic bread.

However, it is only now the cherry sorbet properly froze, and I was able to take proper scoops of it. It kind of went back to its goop texture during the time we ate the main plate. My dad liked it still, and told me how it reminded him to something called "zuppa inglese". I know what I'm doing next time.

Later that day we had some gelato. Mine was with pistachio and another flavour I don't remember the name of, but it had nuts and chocolate chips thorought, and tasted like white hazelnut spread, which is one of my favourite things.
19/06/21
I didn't get to cook that day. I ate Pizza alla verdura at my godmother (Along with peach smoothie and a ginseng coffee), then some sponge cake at my dad's side hustle, then a bit more pizza, one slice still alla verdura and he other with prosciutto crudo and blue cheese, and also pasta fredda.

One was farfalle with parmesan flakes and tomato, one was fussili with other greens I don't remember, and the last was penne with mushrooms and a pickled artichoke I particularly liked.
20/06/21
I was out all day. During the day, I ate some sponge-pie thing with jam, gnocco fritto with prosciutto crudo and mozarella, then a kit kat ice cream, some coconut and then a plate with more sponge-pie, grilled zucchini, lettuce, crisps, bread and rice pudding I had 2 helpings of because it was particlarly delicious.
21/06/21
Today's dinner was:

Fried potatoes and scrambled egg with chickpeas and different vegetables. That is my dad's plate.

This dinner flopped. I overcooked the potatoes and the scrambled egg was supposed to be a frittata until I realised it started to burn at the bottom. It didn't taste bad though, I minimally managed to make the potatoes taste nostalgic, like the way my grandma makes them.

But today I was busy and made this beauty.
Told ya I was gonna make it. My dad loved it too. I'm really glad, I worked all day on it and made everything from scratch, even bought ingreients for it and only for it. I'm also really happy with the way it turned out.
22/06/21
No photographed dinner today. I had leftovers.
22/06/21
Today I'm going to make cacio e pepe with the leftover pecorino lying around.